• Welcome to Thousand Roads! You're welcome to view discussions or read our stories without registering, but you'll need an account to join in our events, interact with other members, or post one of your own fics. Why not become a member of our community? We'd love to have you!

Join now!

Pokémon Got A Taste Of The Good Life

Rusting Knight

Youngster
Pronouns
he/him
Summary: After doing a pretty good job of ruining her own life, Rosie moves out to the grasslands to repair her grandfather’s old hut. There she finds peace, and a strange movement beneath her feet. (2,318 words, one-shot)
Notes: Title taken from the song ‘Good Life‘ by Sammy Rae & The Friends. Beta reading done by SingingViolin and Capt_Hikimari - thank you to both of them. All mistakes left are my own, and I welcome any feedback. And please say hi, if you want! I’m new to the Pokemon fandom and looking to get to know people.

Looking at the foreign, featureless grassland, it struck Rosie that her success tasted bitter. She had run too far away; she had done too good of a job burning down her life. The land lay blue and sleepy under dwindling dusk light. Only the silvery thread of a slow-moving river interrupted the land’s endless pattern. Rosie stood frozen, still hefting a suitcase bulging with cobbled together remnants of her life. Crickets chanted drowsy choruses among brittle grasses and white meadow flowers. Sweat stuck Rosie’s tanktop to her back, dark patches spreading from her armpits. Clinging heat wound up her shorts to prickle along her spine, refusing to depart with the sun. When she blinked Rosie’s eyes felt gritty from long hours staring at the straight dusty road. Regret coiled its greasy length in her stomach.