• Welcome to Thousand Roads! You're welcome to view discussions or read our stories without registering, but you'll need an account to join in our events, interact with other members, or post one of your own fics. Why not become a member of our community? We'd love to have you!

Join now!

What's the longest running Pokemon fic out there?

Blackjack Gabbiani

Merely a collector
Pronouns
Them
Partners
  1. shaymin
  2. dusknoir
Still being updated, of course.

I know I've been working on Obsession since 2001 but the earliest I can find that I posted it was on Bulbagarden in 2003, but in the first post I described it as "well known". It seems I also started talking about it on LiveJournal in 2003 but the earliest chapter I have there is chapter 5.

Is there a fic older than 2003 that's still being updated? Older than 2001?

The Walrein

Vicinal Dragging for the Truth
Partners
  1. gulpin
  2. kricketot
  3. bulbasaur
Interesting question! I guess it depends on how recently a fic needs to have updated to considered to be "still updating", and if you start counting from the first chapter of the most recent reboot or the first chapter of the very original version.

The oldest published incomplete story in the main Pokemon section on Fanfiction.net which updated within at least the past year is Anything But Ordinary, published July 18, 2002 and updated December 17, 2021. If you're looking for something that's long-running in the sense of having a lot of words and updating at least semi-regularly for most of its runtime, you might want to look at the fifth oldest story, Silver Resistance, published June 3rd 2008 and last updated November 2nd 2022. It's up to almost a million words, and (I believe, not 100% sure) has been updating at least occasionally throughout that whole time, barring a hiatus from August 2018 to October 2020.